Reviews

Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Decided to have a couple of days away, we stayed in Laural Cottage which was very comfortable clean and tidy, breakfast was excellent. Alison and Wayne are very friendly also perfect hosts. I would stay here again and recommend anyone to stay here

Reviewer:Raymond B | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 6 days ago


Lovely cottage - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed staying in your beautiful cottage, awesome breakfast and lovely smile

Reviewer:Liewsuat K | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 week ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

Me and my partner enjoyed your beautiful house and its location was on perfect to,easy walk into town for food and close to the main infrastructure for access .

Reviewer:paul b | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Excellent hosts & beautiful guest house - Rating 5/5

Could not fault anything Our stay was brilliant breakfast was lovely everyday. The room we stay in was lovely. Thank you so much.Will see you next year in May.Take care Debbie &Paul Booth

Reviewer:Paul B | Thu 24th May 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Accommodating and friendly hosts. They prepared for our dietary restrictions very well. The room was clean and comfy and the location was great for a nice walk into town or Bowness-on-Windermere. Would absolutely stay again!

Reviewer:Kimberly N | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 1 month ago


Five night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, both Alison and Wayne were more than pleasant, breakfast was superb with ample choice from fresh fruit, cake, cereal, juices toast cooked breakfast , a superb start to the day, an attractive clean comfortable stay

Reviewer:Tracey P | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely Windermere stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable and we had a lovely view. Breakfast was excellent and hosts were very welcoming and friendly. We really appreciated help with directions about how to get to Hilltop and lift to the station when we wee leaving.

Reviewer:Sophie C | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 month ago


Good quality- Rating 4/5

Friendly, clean, comfortable accommodation, wide variety of food supplied for breakfast. Location good.

Reviewer:Andrew H | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 month ago


Warm and friendly and comfortable - Rating 5/5

We spent three nights the bed was comfortable it was like a home from home. Lovely breakfast with bags of choices.

Reviewer:Paresh R | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 1 month ago


Lake District- Rating 5/5

Congenial hosts and a great breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:John B | Fri 20th Apr 2018 | 2 months ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 4/5

Lovely clean accommodation very nice breakfast.Lovely couple

Reviewer:Lisa J | Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 2 months ago


Quiet location - Rating 5/5

Had a nice stay we wanted a quiet stayWill book again when visiting the lakes

Reviewer:Cathy F | Mon 12th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely Accommodation Good Location - Rating 5/5

Very clean &comfortable room, Wayne and Alison have thought of everything you could possibly need. Great selection for breakfast with specials available every day. Given advice on the best places to eat and drink locally and the village is just a 5 minute walk with bars and restaurants to suit every taste &budget. Wayne &Alison were very friendly and helpful with lots of knowledge about the area. Would definitely recommend Laurel Cottage to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Windermere.

Reviewer:Sandra D | Tue 6th Mar 2018 | 3 months ago


Great breakfast - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely cottage. When the weather was clear we could see the snow topped mountains from our bedroom along with the river that runs by the side of the house. The breakfast were amazing and specials available daily. Would recommend to anybody

Reviewer:Dave H | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 4 months ago


Top class b&b - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome, great room first class breakfasts

Reviewer:Chris H | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B and the owners go above and beyond to make you welcome.Breakfast was great.I'd recommend to anyone staying in Windermere.

Reviewer:Carole D | Mon 15th Jan 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay.Very clean and tidy, Breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Martin P | Tue 9th Jan 2018 | 5 months ago


Good stuff. - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay, quiet warm room on chilly December weekend.Good breakfast and good local knowledge directing us to an enjoyable walk.

Reviewer:Steven D | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights early December, the room was spotless, very nicely decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was gleaming. The breakfast choices were plentiful, high quality and locally sources when possible. Alison and Wayne were extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful. The B&B is an attractive 10 minute walk from the main centre of Windermere and 1 1/4 miles from Bowness. We'd definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Rhona M | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 6 months ago


great service - Rating 5/5

we had a great time at this hotel ,and would recommend it to anyone. really helpful especially when it came to best walks me and Jackie .

Reviewer:Christopher F | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 6 months ago


Wife\'s birthday- Rating 5/5

Had a fab weekend at Laurel cottage , Alison &wayne made us feel so welcome , we had a cosy room , lovely breakfast,with all the little extras , less than 10 minutes walk to shops restaurants &bars, would highly recommend , phil &tracy.

Reviewer:Philip B | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


birthday break - Rating 5/5

Alison and Wayne were very friendly hosts.We stayed in bedroom 3 which had a large and very comfortable 4 poster bed and a nice seating area.The breakfast was excellent and the guest house was very homely.We had a very relaxing break - thank you both.Helen and Akick

Reviewer:alick s | Sun 12th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Lovely stay in Windermere.- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Laurel Cottage. The owners Alison and Wayne were really friendly and helpful about things to do in the area. The home cooked breakfast was yummy with plenty of choice, and the place itself was very relaxed, peaceful and quiet. Would stay there again. Thank you.

Reviewer:Eilis M | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 7 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

What can we say but a very relaxing visit good breakfast and comfortable room and to round it off looked after by very attentive hosts will definitely paying another visit.Kim &Jayson

Reviewer:Jayson s | Tue 31st Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


Lovely Guest House - Rating 5/5

I would strongly recommend a stay in Laurel Cottage. The owners were welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And to top it off the breakfast was delicious. I would happily stay there again in the future.

Reviewer:Vanessa J | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 7 months ago


Laurel cottage - Rating 5/5

Room was excellent, breakfast lovely and the hosts very helpful and sociable. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Linda U | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


Ian & lesley - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay here. Very easy to park and within easy walking distance to Windermere town where there are plenty of places to eat and to enjoy a pint too. Our room was clean and comfortable with views towards the mountains. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and plentiful. Alison and Wayne were lovely, very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again in the future. Diolch yn fawr.

Reviewer:Ian K | Tue 26th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


A pleasure to stay at Laurel cottage- Rating 5/5

Wayne and Alison were excellent hosts,the rooms are of a very high standard,breakfast choices were varied and delicious.

Reviewer:John M | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


A fantastic time- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time here and will certainly stay again next time we are in the lakes.

Reviewer:Amy S | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly welcoming hosts. Room clean and comfy. Breakfast good

Reviewer:Hulbert, J | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Delightful Accommodation- Rating 5/5

A very lovely b &b close to the centre of Windermere. Wonderful hosts who looked after us like special guests.

Reviewer:Vicki H | Sat 9th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Felt welcome and cozy - Rating 5/5

My mum and I went to Windermere with our 6 month puppy. We were made to feel very welcome. Had a clean, cozy and quiet room on the first floor overlooking the garden. It was a great place to stay with a dog as there is a park right across the road.We weren't able to take the dog down for breakfast but that wasn't a problem as we left him in the room.Breakfast was very nice and the B&B owners very accomodating with different breakfast requests.Perfect location for walks and vicinity to restaurants and shops.

Reviewer:Mrs. Simona W | Tue 5th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


Many thanks - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay! Very clean and really friendly service would deffiently consider staying again when in the lakes. 5 star!

Reviewer:Oliver b | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 9 months ago


Weekend visitor - Rating 4/5

Just what we needed for our few days in Windermere.Good location and a friendly welcome.Lovely bteakfast and helpful hosts.

Reviewer:Sylvia H | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 9 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

A very nice stay. Laurel cottage had everything we needed. Great location, clean and comfortable room, would highly recommend!

Reviewer:Alyssa A | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 9 months ago


Lovely cottage - Rating 5/5

It was our first time un the Lakes. We had a lovely stay un the Laurel Cottage. Delicious Breakfast! spotless and comfortable bedrooms! Alison and Wayne were courteous and polite. They suggest us different routes and provide us with useful guides and Maps. We would definitely recommend staying there

Reviewer:Ana Vinagre A | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Great weekend stay- Rating 5/5

Had a great weekend staying at Laurel Cottage,Alison and Wayne were the perfect hosts. Our room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent every day. Wayne was very knowledgeable about walks in the lakes and provided us with a map for our journey. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Alex M | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


great stay at Laurel Cotttage - Rating 5/5

very friendly couple, made us feel very welcome. food was lovely great choice, room was very comfy and perfect for our stay. Would recommend it to friends. very good locationxx x

Reviewer:nettie M | Fri 18th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Great country getaway - Rating 5/5

Wayne and Alison were great hosts. The home was beautifully presented, modern and clean. Felt like I was staying in a family home. They gave me great suggestions to fill in my time and the breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Freya S | Fri 18th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


The Laurel Cottage Windermere- Rating 5/5

Very friendly and welcoming excellent breakfast with daily specials, beautiful rooms slept well.The location is great easy to get around, stayed a few times and will be going back next year. Thank you for the warm reception.

Reviewer:Linda C | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Alison and Wayne are really friendly and accommodating. Laurel Cottage is a lovely old house in a great location, a short stroll to Windermere and not to far from Bowness either.Breakfast was superb both days with perfectly cooked poached eggs on both occasions. Only drawback for me is breakfast is served really early, 8-9 even on a Sunday.

Reviewer:Adum C | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


visit to Laura House- Rating 5/5

Laura Cottage is a beautiful place to stay, our room was beautiful and very clean and comfortable, Alison and Wayne are very good hosts, and the breakfast was so good, something for everyone, we had a great few days stay, and a very good nights sleep, if we come to windermere again, we will stay here, and tell all our friends too

Reviewer:Carol G | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


A Great B&B in the Lake District - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay, would recommend Laurel Cottage to everyone.

Reviewer:Kathryn H | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Birthday Weekend - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay, thank you very much for everything.if we are ever back in the area we will definitely call on your B&B first.

Reviewer:Lynne M | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Clean and cosy - Rating 5/5

Laurel cottage is beautiful and nicely decorated. Our room and bathroom were clean and cosy, our hosts Wayne and Alison were also very hospitable. Breakfast was delicious and also served very quickly. Location is convenient;walking distance to Windermere rail station as well as Bowness-on-Windermere. We had a great stay, thank you!

Reviewer:Daphne K | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


king size room- Rating 4/5

enjoyed the stay, great service will recommend to others

Reviewer:adeel h | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


fantastic b&b - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely few days at Laurel Cottage, lovely warm welcome, four poster room very nice spacious clean and the most comfortable bed weve slept in. Very good choice for breakfast we had full english and honey bacon and black pudding on eggy bread which was both absolutely delicious. We cant wait to go back again. Many thanks from Sarah and Andy x

Reviewer:Sarah B | Wed 12th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely B & B in a wonderful location - Rating 5/5

Everything about this accommodation was lovely. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have slept in! We stayed in room 3 which had a four poster and a small settee. Thankyou to our hosts xx

Reviewer:Karen N | Sat 8th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Laurel cottage windermere - Rating 4/5

A comfortable room and a breakfast equal to that of a quality hotel

Reviewer:Michael G | Fri 7th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely Bed and Breakfast - Rating 4/5

Really lovely Bed and Breakfast, very short walk to the beautiful shops and restaurants of Windermere. Good sized room and fantastic owners. Breakfast was great too. We had a brilliant stay. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Tom B | Tue 4th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Quite relaxing retreat - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful advice given the breakfast was great

Reviewer:Peter N | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Good place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. Compliments for our hosts!! Helpfull and vers friendly. Tasty full English breakfest. Rooms were nice and clean. À place to remember.

Reviewer:Peter de W | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely house, and lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at Laurel Cottage. It is a lovely house, very helpful hosts and it felt like nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was really comfortable, with plenty of space and a nice en suite. The breakfast was fantastic - loved that so much of it was hand made (jams, compotes, yoghurt, granola etc...)and lovely idea to have the 'specials' changing every day too.

Reviewer:Madeleine C | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Stayed on 17th to 19th June 2017 - Rating 5/5

We had a really enjoyable weekend. The hosts at Laurel Cottage were most welcoming. Very clean and comfortable bedroom. The breakfast was most enjoyable with a wide variety of options. We will definately stay again when visiting the lakes

Reviewer:Philip G | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


re laurel cottage- Rating 5/5

Most excellentstayDefinitelygo backagain. Kind regards Paul Hopkins.

Reviewer:Paul H | Mon 19th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Had a really good weekend stay. Nice people, clean spacious room, good food. Fully recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Andrew S | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. The couple who run the B&B are very pleasant and were so helpful when we had to change our booking. Lovely room and a nice selection for breakfast. Would recommend it to anyone

Reviewer:Carol M | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


SUPERB STAY, WILL RETURN!- Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay, accommodation was clean and tidy. Bed, super comfortable and the breakfast ... amazing! Alison &Wayne made us and our dog feel very welcome. We will definitely be returning! Thank you so much :)

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison N | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

It was our 1st time at the Lake District, we were not disappointed. We booked Laurel Cottage after reading some reviews and we are so glad we booked it. The guest house is lovely, it's so comfortable and peaceful. The breakfast was perfect and set us up for the day, there is so much to choose from. The shops are only 5 minutes away and local transport can take you to many interesting places. Alison and Wayne are lovely, so friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure staying at Laurel Cottage and we will definitely recommend it. We look forward to staying again soon.

Response

thank you for the lovely review, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Reviewer:John H | Fri 26th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice area - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place to stay. Wayne and Alison made us feel so welcome. Excellent comfy bed. Breakfast was brill. Would stay hete again.

Reviewer:Patricia M | Tue 23rd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent accommodation, beautiful location- Rating 5/5

What a fabulous spot, we had an amazing couple of nights here, friendly accommodating hosts, lovely clean accommodation. Will definitely go back and would highly recommend

Reviewer:Kate K | Fri 19th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Laurel cottage - Rating 5/5

Lovely cosy room. A warm friendly welcome &Wayne &Alison couldn't do enough to fit there guests. Would highly recommend

Reviewer:Ms. Linda Mctaggart| Wed 17th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, fantastic breakfast and really warm and friendly hosts. Couldn't have asked for more and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definitely go back for another mid-week break.

Reviewer:Kate D | Sat 13th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great hosts, clean, comfortable bedroom, excellent breakfast. Highly recommend this lovely cottage.

Reviewer:Kevin O | Wed 10th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Fab stay!!- Rating 5/5

Laurel cottage was exactly what we wanted, lovely people who were so helpful and great food and service! We would definitely stay again! Thank you!

Reviewer:Gemma G | Tue 9th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Mid-week break - Rating 5/5

Excellent location. On a quiet road in Windermere, within 5 mins of shops, restaurants and pubs. Extremely helpful hosts re:walking routes, loaning maps. Excellent breakfast both full-english and continental. Lovely room.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda D | Sat 6th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Me and my oartber would like to thank wayne and alison for an incredible atay at laurel cottage .The location was oerfect juat outside windemere town centre (15 min walk).The room was immaculate with a big 4 poster bed , sofa and tv.The food was excellent and set you up for a great day .I would deffinately reccomend , 10/10

Reviewer:Lee C | Fri 5th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, hosts very friendly &welcoming. Variety of breakfasts to choose from in a morning &cooked to perfection. Room very spacious &comforting. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Kerry S | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Homely- Rating 5/5

Great choiceof breakfast very friendlyclean room made feel very welcome

Reviewer:Paul B | Sun 30th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


A well deserved break- Rating 4/5

This B&B is situated in the heart of Windermere. Clean,comfortable and very friendly. Looking forward to returning soon.

Reviewer:Stuart B | Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Second stay here - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and cosy B and B. Good location, easy access to town centre and rail station, yet peaceful and quiet. Alison and Wayne very welcoming hosts. Great choice for breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Vanessa F | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

The stay at laurel cottage was excellent I booked this long weekend to celebrate my partners50th birthday. The hospitality was second to none. The host's made you feel at home.you need that when your away from home . windermere is breath taking and the scenery is eye candy.we will be back soon to spend more time in the lakes and at Laurel cottage .

Reviewer:Gary H | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent comfortable stay, amazing breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. deb g | Thu 20th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Weekend - Rating 5/5

Hi, my wife and I had a super time at your lovely Accommodation. Great room and TOP Breakfast. Would definitely come back. All The Best Mr &Mrs Curran

Reviewer:Mr. john Curran| Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 4/5

We just spent a few days around Windermere, and had a lovely stay at Laurel Cottage. Very kind and helpful hosts- giving us extra help with information about walks and making us feel very welcome. Amazingly creative special breakfasts everyday. Thank you very much'

Reviewer:Anna L | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Very welcoming lovely b&b in a fab location- Rating 5/5

The owners were fantastic incredibly welcoming and friendly there was a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was fab with a greAt choice brilliant location close to the town and lakes with great shops cafes restaurants and of course walks room was very large with everything we needed would stay again x

Reviewer:Miss. Annette B | Wed 5th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice and clean - Rating 4/5

Lovely little guest house. Great breakfast, owners very friendly and helpful re walks in the area.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Ian G | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Windermere- Rating 5/5

Alison &Wayne were excellent hosts Laurel cottage is very good value and would recommend it as a good place to explore the Lake District

Reviewer:Trevor B | Wed 29th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent stay this weekend, bed and breakfast in a perfect location and great service

Reviewer:Mrs. Kelly B | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay at Laurel Cottage,lovely little B&B , attention to detail from hosts,who were really helpful with what to do/and walking routes to take, went out of their way to give out local information, helpful tips andgiving us extra biscuits!! ( my favourite). Definitely recommend if you want to stay in Windermere, thanks for a great stay! x

Reviewer:Jane N | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Relaxed ! - Rating 5/5

The title says how we felt after our stay at Laurel Cottage. Not all to do with the cottage, weather, food and fresh air played their part. The room, the breakfast, the hosts and the location did, however, help enormously. The room was clean and well maintained and had all we needed - the wifi worked well and for us it is important for communication, planning our day and entertainment/news - and a comfortable bed. The breakfast choice was good, the specials a great idea just wish we could have stayed for the next day. The hosts were friendly and efficient with good suggestions for walks and eating out. The cottage is only 5 minutes walk from a good range of eating places and Windermere is a good centre for enjoying the lakes. Thank you for a relaxing 3 days.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger N | Thu 16th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Had a relaxing weekend at Laurel Cottage. it is an old building full of character. Our room was excellent. Clean with a most comfortable 4 poster bed. Wayne and Alison are a most friendly couple, who go out of their way to look after you. Breakfast is to die for. Freshly prepared to order and plentiful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Laurel Cottage and it is our intention to return sooner rather than later.

Response

Thank you both very much, we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Peter W | Mon 23rd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


FABULOUS STAY - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Laurel Cottage for 3 nights over New Year. The cottage is very clean and welcoming and in a quiet position.We were in Room 3 with the Four Poster Bed, the room also had a settee which made the stay much more comfortable especially when watching the TV.The bedding was lovely with clean crisp white sheets.Parking was very easy no problem parking along the road.Only a couple of minutes walk into Windermere.The breakfasts were very good with a good selection, all hot cooked breakfast made to order.Alison and Wayne were very friendly and made you feel at home.What more could you want.We will definately be returning.

Reviewer:ZENA L | Mon 9th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


New Year weekend break! - Rating 5/5

Our stay in Laurel Cottage was excellent, the hosts were friendly and knowledgable. The location was great, only minutes walk from the town centre and 15 minutes walk from Bowness.Breakfasts were lovely and fresh. A very warm, clean and perfect place to relax and explore.Definatly recommend to stay here!! Look at their website for more info and to book.

Reviewer:Claire M | Tue 3rd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Our 3 day break between Christmas & New year. - Rating 5/5

Had a chilled relaxing break me and the wife. Between Christmasand New year To get our battries recharged for our year celebrations. Room was tidy comftable and warm. Breakfast was excellent if you wanted something not on the menu they would go out their way. Always made to feel welcome. I Would defo stay here again.

Reviewer:Steven D | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice and warm welcome on the professional way - Rating 5/5

Nice and warm welcome! I arrived during the night, everything was arranged, parking place was always available, wifi was working, breakfast was nice and tasty and healthy:you can choose from three different option and it will be freshly and quickly prepared for you. Room was comfortable and spacious, nicely decorated. Hairdryer and coffee- tea was available at room. Area in Windermere toewn is peaceful, easy to find. Might be not so comfortable if you are travelling with lot of luggage.

Reviewer:Evelin J | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts and a quality breakfast

Reviewer:Keith S | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely staying in Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay.The room was clean, comfortable and it had all we needed. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of things to choose. We are vegetarian people and they give us a lovely vegetarian homemade sausage. The owners, Alison and Wayne, are very kind. We had some lovely chats with them and they gave us very good advice to visit the area. So we highly recommend Laurel Cottage!

Reviewer:Montserrat N | Sat 10th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Hi guys we had a lovely wknd with youwe were made to feel very welcome . The room was very comfortablewith stunning views over the fields&hillswe hope to return in the new year thankyou once again for your hospitality. Paul &Andrea

Reviewer:Paul M | Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

The facilities, location, and setting were perfect.Laurel Cottage is clean, cosy and friendly.We truley enjoyed our stay.Thank you

Reviewer:Rachel R | Tue 22nd Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


superb - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic place,very nice hosts,clean and exceptionally comfortable,breakfast10/10,my lady is a veggie and all tastes catered for.Prime location for a base to explore all the lake district has to offer,if in doubt about what to do Wayne the owner is a tour guide in his own right. Fabulous visit, if you want to relax enjoy and spend quality time together as a couple,laurel cottage will oblige.10/10. Cant wait to return. Thanks folks had a fantastic time.

Reviewer:John B | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We booked a weekend away at laurel cottage with friends for Andrews birthday. We where all very pleased with the accomadation,the beds where really comfy,home from home,the breakfasts where 1st class. We even had a choice of specials to choose from.A five minute stroll to shops bars and restaurants what more could you ask for. Go ahead and book a break at this great cottage you won't be sorry.Thanksagain Alison and Wayne hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Peter L | Tue 15th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


SHORT BREAK - Rating 5/5

GOOD STAY. COMFY BED. WARM ROOM. TASTY BREAKFAST

Reviewer:Mr. DAVID C | Sun 13th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Good choice - Rating 5/5

After choosing from quite an array of accommodation we were more thanpleased with Lairel Cottage. We were meet with a warm welcome, shown to a pleasant clean room, given good local information and then sent on our way the next morning with a hearty breakfast. Could not of asked for more. Thank you Laurel Cottage!

Reviewer:Cathy A | Fri 11th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely place 2 minute walk from town. - Rating 5/5

when we arrived Alison asked about breakfast and if the were any dietary requirements and offered to pop out and get some gluten free bread for my partner, which was lovely.We stayed in the room with the four poster bed. I can honestly say it's the nicest bed I've ever slept in. The room was a good size and the en-suite was lovely with a nice power full shower. The breakfast choice was superb with plenty of options. Alison and Wayne are lovely, very friendly, suggest good places to eat and even lent us a map because as is usual for us, we had left ours at home. I would highly recommend stopping here for a pleasant weekend break.

Reviewer:Graham C | Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Laurel Cottage a lovely family run guest house- Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our short stay in Windermere and especially enjoyed the hospitality we received from Alison and Wayne. There was nothing that was too much trouble and we were provided with extremley informative information about some of the best places to visit during our stay. Our room was number 4 at the top of the house. It was a spacious room which helped as we had our 6 month old baby with us. Alison and Wayne provided us with a travel cot and at breakfast our son had his own place set out with Peppa Pig cutlery, plate and bowl, which was a lovely personal touch. The walk down to Windermere from Laurel Cottage was pleasent and took around 30/40 mins. We throughly enjoyed our first stay in the Lake district and hope to return in the not to distant future. We would 100% recommend Laurel Cottage.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lucy B | Sun 6th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Lakeside Break - Rating 5/5

Alison &Wayne are fantastic hosts. Very welcoming and informative. Beautiful roomwith magnificent four poster bed. Breakfasts were delicious. Short walk from Windermere town centre &Bowness-on-Windemere. Such beautiful scenery. We will be back.

Reviewer:Graham P | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice break - Rating 5/5

Friendly run business, clean, modern, handy fridge to use on the landing, breakfast spot on, good specials choice, would recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Mrs. Michelle M | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Laurel cottage - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay, the rooms were nicely furnished and very comfortable indeed. The breakfast was perfect and specials were available that changed each day. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming as were the proprietors, thankyou for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane T | Sat 29th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Loverly place to stay- Rating 5/5

So friendly, well located, clean and very comfortable.

Reviewer:Howard B | Wed 26th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Loverly place to stay - Rating 5/5

So friendly, well located, clean and very comfortable.

Reviewer:Howard B | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Loverly place to stay- Rating 5/5

So friendly, well located, clean and very comfortable.

Reviewer:Howard B | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a very comfortable stay. The food was great, the room very clean and the cottage was in a perfect location for exploring the local area. Alison and Wayne were most welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

Reviewer:Tomos E | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Perfect few days- Rating 4/5

Beautiful room overlooking park. Quality finishes, very comfortable bed and delicious breakfasts.

Reviewer:Joanne A | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Perfect few days- Rating 4/5

Beautiful room overlooking park. Quality finishes, very comfortable bed and delicious breakfasts.

Reviewer:Joanne A | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

We thank Alison and Wayne for the excellent hospitality that we experienced at Laurel Cottage.The accommodation was cosy and comfortable and the scenery was breathtaking as we come from a city.The breakfasts were very tasty and they both went out of their way to make us feel welcome.We all would recommend to our relations and friends to book into Laurel Cottage if they were planning to come to the Lake District which is one of the most beautiful parts of the country.Once again thank you.Kind regards.Adella, Harvey, Andrew &Greg(From the West Midlands)

Reviewer:Adella D | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Short Windermere Break - Rating 4/5

First time staying in a B&B and was very happy.Was able to check in ahead of time.Breakfast was good.The cottage is in a great location for centre of Windermere and a short 15 minute walk to Bowness.Tea and coffee in room, with biscuits, handy for a late night drink.Hosts very friendly.

Reviewer:Michael G | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean b n b close to shops bars and restaurants, good location very pleasant room,nice breakfast nice hosts nothing too much trouble very friendly would defiantly stay again. I would highly recommend .

Reviewer:Sharon E | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Lakes visit- Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely stay in the lakes .laurel cottage offers a comfortable cosy stay.Excellent choice for breakfast and service second to none.Specials at breakfast were available local produce being used and home made preserves etc were a real treat.Hosts friendly and helpful,we would recommend laurel cottage and we would love a return stay.12thSeptember 2016

Reviewer:Carol D | Thu 15th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


A good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Booked for 4 nights away in this lovely b&b. Wayne and Alison are very friendly and it is like you have the freedom of the lakes. Very nice food and company at breakfast time with lots to chat about and great local knowledge (wayne had). Would stay again in a heartbeat

Reviewer:Mr. Mark F | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Wonderful bank holiday weekend - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Laurel Cottage. Comfortable bed, pleasant and friendly owners and an excellent breakfast with lots of homemade goodies to eat.

Reviewer:Nicola W | Thu 1st Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Short break in the lakes - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean rooms, fantastic breakfast with many options to choose from and really friendly, knowledgable owners who will happily give advice on where to visit outside of the tourist traps. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Corrie F | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Very hospitable pleasant stay. Way better than a hotel. - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed the hospitality, the breakfast. They gave fresh homemade produce. The couple were very friendly. Bathroom was well equipped.

Reviewer:Jeya N | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely, comfortable stay in Winderemere - Rating 5/5

Laurel cottage is ideally situated at the North end of the town, bars,shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Breakfast was wonderful and kept us going all day, with just a snack in the evening.

Reviewer:Colin P | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

A very convenient location, a clean and comfortable room, outstanding breakfast with daily specials on the board. Run by efficient, helpful and caring hosts who take an interest in the welfare and comfort of their guests.

Reviewer:Sarah T | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Superb! - Rating 5/5

Lovely, friendly hosts with great knowledge of the local attractions. Comfortable room (5), excellent breakfasts, with daily specials. Very convenient location for Windermere, Bowness and the western lakes. What more can we say?? Superb!

Reviewer:Jack C | Fri 5th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Fabulous Stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful few days spent in Laurel Cottage. Wayne and Alison create a home from home with every requirement catered for. Stayed in four poster bedroom which was large, bright and spotlessly clean. Seating area in bedroom was cosy and comfy. Large variety of choices for breakfast, cereals, fruit, yogurt the a delicious cooked breakfast. Location of cottage is perfect, a short stroll away from the shops and amenities. All in all a perfect retreat and hopefully we will return again soon.

Reviewer:Maria M | Fri 5th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Made very welcome. Very friendly and knowledgable hosts who helped at every turn. Oh and great breakfasts - try the daily special. Lovely place.

Reviewer:Drew W | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Break in the lake district - Rating 5/5

Had the good fortune to book our stay at laurel cottage. Our hosts were great almost like staying with family.Rooms are large clean and airy plenty of tea coffee etc in room and highly recommend the well cooked breakfast you could probably eat enough at breakfast to last all day. Would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Nicholas J | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely guest house - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable guest house - great room, good location and lovely views. Very friendly! Loved the breakfast specials. Thanks!

Reviewer:Mario De G | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

My girlfriend and I spent 5 days at Laurel Cottage and really enjoyed our stay, Alison and Wayne were very friendly and only too happy to help with any request (as my half English breakfast proved). I would happily recommend this lovely cottage if anyone is to stay in the Windemere area and would also happily stay here again.Many thanks for your hospitality.

Reviewer:Richard H | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


brilliant - Rating 5/5

what a lovely 2 day stay we had.wayne and alison are lovely people.could not do enough for us.we are defo going to return.as the review suggests.brilliant.

Reviewer:Mr. julian p | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay. - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 6 nights recently. Lovely warm reception from Wayne and Alison. Stayed in Four Poster bedroom. Room was bigger than expected which had the added benefit of the seating area to one side. Bed was very comfortable.Excellent breakfast with plenty of options each morning. We enjoyed the stay and would recommend to all.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian J | Thu 14th Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Awesome B&B - Rating 5/5

We were just looking for a relaxing break for a few days and get exactly that. The rooms were really nice with a basic but well furnished run suite. The owners were lovely and scooby (their black lab) was ace. Breakfast was really good ad there was a different special each day. Location wise it was great, 5 minute walk from everything and right next to the park. The property itself was lovely and well kept to. Honestly couldn't think of a thing I'd change.

Reviewer:Joshua B | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

We were very happy with the service and the politeness of the owners of this bed and breakfast. The rooms were really clean and fresh had everything we wanted in there. The breakfast was outstanding you had a choice of fresh fruit , cereal, toast, croissants and also fried breakfasts tea and coffee. We would go back there again .

Reviewer:Annmarie B | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay at laurel cottage, perfectly located in a quite area a short walk from the main town with good free parking and an excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Jonathan B | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

lovely comfortable room,alison and wayne very friendly and helpful, great food.what more could you ask for,will stay there again if up that way

Reviewer:David T | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Great B & B - Rating 5/5

Well situated. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms are spacious &comfortable. Brilliant time had all around in superb surroundings. Even the weather behaved!!

Reviewer:Neil B | Fri 10th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights at laurel cottage and loved our stay. The room was spacious clean well furnished and nicely decorated. Breakfast was lovely served by our great hosts Wayne and Alison. We were there in June when the beautiful garden was in full bloom with an array of colourful plants and flowers. We would recommend this guest house to anyone and can't wait to visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. KevanH | Tue 7th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Comfortable with great location - Rating 4/5

We spent 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfasts were very good with great choice. Alison and Wayne always made a point of speaking to everyone, which was lovely. Lots of local knowledge too!Great location for Windermere and Bowness and good base for other areas like Keswick. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Madhu M | Thu 2nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice cottage, great location and within walking distance to town centre. The room was clean and spacious for two and the owners were friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Anastasia P | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly Recommended and Conveniently Located Near Town - Rating 5/5

Our priorities were a place within easy walking distance of the town centre, good parking, large room, and quiet location. Laurel Cottage ticked all the boxes.Less than 5 minutes walk to the centre, and 20 minutes to the lake makes it ideally placed.We opted for the large room with the 4 poster bed, which has a hand made mattress and is very comfortable. There was a sitting area with a settee and TV that swivels, so you can also watch it in bed. Our room was at the front, looking over the park, and the location was quiet, so we slept well.There is no fridge in the room, but one is available for guests on one of the floors. There were the usual tea and coffee making facilities, but I liked the hot chocolate best. The wifi was adequate for our use, and reliable. We found the duvet a bit too warm, but that is the only negative, and a small one at that.Although there is no private parking, there are no parking restrictions in the road outside, and we always managed to get a space opposite the guest house, so this was not an issue.The breakfasts were very good, with choices of cereals, fruit, yogurt and even cake.I particularly liked the choice of a lighter cooked breakfast e.g. muffin with egg on top, though full English is available. You can order a special the evening before.The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay at Laurel Cottage again if we return to Windermere.Thank you Wayne and Alison for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Julia B | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Place to stay with view to die for - Rating 5/5

Really great place to stay, lovely couple running this. Fab breakfast and great room with a super view

Reviewer:Claire H | Wed 25th May 2016 | 2 years ago


holiday - Rating 5/5

We enjoy our stay in Laurel Cottage, everything was us we expected. room was big, comfortable bed, breakfast very good, especially home made yoghurt and granola, we would eat breakfast like that every day.

Reviewer:LUKASZ M | Sun 22nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Two days in the Lakes - Rating 5/5

Many thanks to Wayne and Leslie for a very comfortable stay at Laurel Cottage. Excellent room, fine breakfasts and just a step from the centre of Windermere. All in all spot on - and Scoubie the black lab was a treasure!Best wishes Bob &Ella (Fareham, Hants).

Reviewer:Mr. Robert M | Sat 21st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed at Laurel Cottage for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. Alison and Wayne were great hosts and very helpful with lots of good ideas of what to do in Windermere. Delicious breakfast each morning.

Reviewer:Susan Q | Thu 19th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Review of Laurel Cottage - Rating 4/5

We had a great stay. The room was very comfortable for a dog friendly room. The owners are lovely and make you feel very welcome.. Love the idea of the specials board tht offers an alternative to the usual breakfast. We would Definatley go back again and recommend to others. Great location too. Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Mon 16th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Kevin & Sue McNamara - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay and thank you for your wonderful hospitality &food.Would definitely stay again and will recommend on Trip advisor later today.Many thanksKev &Sue

Response

Thank you so much, enjoyed meeting you all and we hope to see you again

Reviewer:Kevin M | Wed 11th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

This was an excellent short break where Alison and Wayne couldn't be more helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here. Thanks again, Andy, Alison, John &Di

Reviewer:Andy W | Wed 11th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Anniversary weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely bed and breakfast. We had the front beautiful 4 poster bed room. Very clean. Very comfortable.lovely couple (Wayne and Alison) offering a warm welcome. Beautiful breakfast. No complaints what so ever!!!Definitely recommend and will definately return .

Response

thank you both for the lovely review

Reviewer:Stuart L | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Laurel cottage - Rating 5/5

Steve and I had a lovely stay at laurel cottage. The room was clean and comfy. The atmosphere was friendly and there knowledge of the area really helpful. Breakfast was great too lots of choices and plenty to eat to start the day. Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Sonia S | Sat 7th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Laurel Cottage Windermere - Rating 5/5

Stayed 29th &30th April. Very comfortable and the Hosts were lovely. would recommend to anyone staying in Windermere.

Reviewer:SANDRA S | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


laurel cottage - Rating 5/5

excellent guest house ,good breakfast selection , hosts are a lovely couple who make you feel welcome

Reviewer:Alexander W | Tue 19th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We spent two nights at Laurel Cottage and were made to feel very welcome by the owners Alison and Wayne.They were very helpful in recommending somewhere to eat.The room was clean, airy and bright.There was a good selection for breakfast which we both enjoyed...Thanks!

Reviewer:Mr. Richard B | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Feels like home - Rating 5/5

Lovely cottage, big room, comfy bed. We stayed in the 4-poster bed room, which has a small area with a couch. Very clean and quiet. Town centre is a 10-minute walk, the lake is 20.Breakfast is nice, you are offered a good choice and a daily special. Alison and Wayne are lovely hosts! Thank you!

Response

thank you both for the lovely comments

Reviewer:Dorina V | Sat 2nd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Laurel Cottage is convenient for Winderemere, just a short stroll to shops and eateries.Lovely family run B &B, loved the home made biscuits in the room and the breakfast was delicious, gorgeous home made yogurt and good quality bacon and sausages. The owners were both friendly and helpful, we will definitely be returning😀😀

Reviewer:Jackie C | Mon 22nd Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, local to everything. Good size room, and very comfortable bed. Good choice for breakfast too.

Reviewer:Miss. Lynette F | Mon 22nd Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Lovely cottage, really good service and lovely owners. Close to the main roads, restaurants and tourist places, but quite nice location.

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments and good luck with university

Reviewer:Beatriz B | Tue 9th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Warm welcome on a cold snowy night - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly B+B, we felt very welcomed into Wayne and Alison's home. The room was clean and warm with lovely finish, even down to the kendle mint cake on the pillow. Breakfast was very good, with a good selection of local produce. Easy to park and short walk to Windermere and restaurants. will definetely be returning

Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and we hope that we see you again

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann-Marie N | Wed 20th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Laurel cottage - Rating 4/5

Lovely cottage . Made to feel really welcome

Reviewer:Hayley H | Mon 21st Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Birthday weekend away - Rating 5/5

A lovely weekend despite the weather. Laurel cottage lovely and cosy, comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Wayne and Alison very helpful hosts

Reviewer:Anne R | Wed 9th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


A warm welcoming stay- Rating 4/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Laurel cottage despite storm Desmond arriving and our second day was very wet!lovely warm welcome.Room was lovely,bed very comfy. Lovely complimentary products. Breakfast was delicious and locally sourced produce. Excellent. Will definately stay again.

Reviewer:Cherrilee H | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely two night stay at Laurel Cottage.The room was large and enough room for two adults and our young son to play in.Alison and Wayne were excellent hosts and the breakfast was tasty too. A very child friendly place.I would definitely recommend this B and B.We will be back!

Reviewer:Mrs. HEATHER H | Thu 5th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


positive - Rating 5/5

We stayed here after our wedding for a micro honeymoon. The room was large, well equipped, clean with a large comfy bed. The owners were attentive and chatty without being intrusive.

Reviewer:Jayne W | Thu 3rd Sep 2015 | 2 years ago


Absolutely Outstanding - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. You couldn't ask for better host's who recommended great trips and were very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The room was impeccably clean, The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable.The breakfast is unbelievably good and there's even a specials board for which I had the salmon and scrambled egg bagel which again was excellent. The location is fantastic too, close to the centre and only a 20 minute walk to Bowness whilst on a very quiet street overlooking a park. There's plenty of parking spaces too which is always helpful.We really couldn't recommend this place enough and can't wait to go back.

Response

great comments, thanks for a great review

Reviewer:John T | Thu 27th Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


A place will visit again. - Rating 5/5

The owners of this lovely cottage were very friendly and helpful. The location was very near the center of the town and the breakfast was healthy and delicious. It's well worth the money.

Response

thank you for your lovely comments, we enjoyed meeting you all and hope that we might see you again in the future

Reviewer:Hong F | Sun 23rd Aug 2015 | 2 years ago


Very nice hotel and excellent hosts! - Rating 5/5

Everything is in right place. Located in quiet area within walking distance from the station, authentic and cosy hotel, tasty breakfast (great choice!) and the last but not the least - very friendly and helpful owners. Would strongly recommend to anyone who is looking for a place to stay on Windermere lake.

Reviewer:Dmitry K | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 2 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at laurel cottage for two nights. Great place and just a short walk from Windermere. Perfect place to stay to celebrateour anniversary. Allison and Wayne very friendly and helpful. Amazing breakkast. Would definitely come back and stay again and would recommend to friends and family.

Reviewer:Elaine M | Wed 17th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Celebrating Graham\'s significant birthday - Rating 4/5

A snug and friendly B&B in a quiet spot in the heart of the Lakes at Bowness. Rooms overlook the Old Man of Coniston on one side and the park from the front. The owners made us feel very welcome, very good breakfasts. Would stay again.

Reviewer:John C | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


A great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, chatty and helpful hosts. Spacious rooms set in a pretty location close to shops and restaurants. Not far from the lake and good location for long walks without having to drive. Good choice for breakfast. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Kim P | Sat 23rd May 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time at laurel cottage just perfect, nice clean and tidy all the time, nice friendly owners chatty and helpful, thank-you had a great break x

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments, we hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Joanne L | Tue 19th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay at an ideally placed cottage. - Rating 5/5

As part of our post wedding minimoon, my wife and I booked in to spend three nights at Laurel Cottage.We had a fantastic stay, our Beagle Ralph joined us;Alison and Wayne made us all feel welcome and were very helpful in suggesting walking routes around Windermere and beyond.Our room was clean tidy and welcoming, with a fantastic breakfast on offer each morning ready for a day of taking in all the lakes had to offer.The cottage is ideally situated in Windermere with a short walk down to Bowness-on-Windermere to enjoy the many amenities available.I would highly recommend Laurel Cottage to anyone wanting to enjoy Windermere and other attractions in the Lake District.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig D | Sun 10th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Laurel Cottage The Lakes district - Rating 5/5

Great B &B in perfect location - walking distance to everything.Excellent hosts, friendly and helpful, and accommodating.As a travel agent in Aust will certainly recommend this property to clients looking for B &B style accommodation in the lakes area.Thankyou for a great stay.

Response

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it is lovely to hear that you will be recommending us to your customers.

Reviewer:Mrs. MarilynD | Mon 10th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

As a young couple in our early 20's we wanted a nice relaxingweekend away with beautiful scenery and laurel cottage provided just that.The cottage is lovely and so were the hosts. Theyhelped us with all our questions of where to go and places to see.Breakfast was the perfect start to the day with plenty of choice and enough to keep you going through the day.We stayed in the four poster bedroom which was immaculate, homely and very comfortable.The cottage is just a short walk from the village centre and from the lakes edge itself.would definitely recommend and go again myself. Thank you.

Response

thank you for the great review, really happy that you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you can come again in the future

Reviewer:Mr. Alfie H | Tue 4th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Best B&B we've ever stayed in! Alison and Wayne were very attentive to all our needs and helped us out in the planning of our visit right from the start. Breakfast was superb everyday, room was lovely and clean. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you!

Response

Thank you both for such a lovely review, we enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again in the future

Reviewer:Dr. Yi Fang L | Tue 4th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay.The specials at breakfast were great! Thanks for looking after us so well!!

Response

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the specials. It was lovely to have met you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Eilidh M | Sun 25th Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


Quiet clean and friendly - what more can one ask? - Rating 5/5

This is the first time I have used bed and breakfast in the Lakes.Laurel Cottage had been recommended and I was not disappointed ( apart from the weather!)Alison and Wayne were so friendly and did everything they could do make our stay as enjoyable as possible.The room and breakfast were both lovely - thank you, we will visit again and recommend Laurel Cottage to our friends.

Response

It was lovely to meet you all and that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth A | Wed 21st Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay very much. The 4 poster room was super comfortable and thanks to the weather we made extra use of it! Breakfast was delicious, too. We'll be back!

Reviewer:Ms. Angela P | Mon 19th Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


Our experience - Rating 5/5

Hotel was beautiful, room with huge bed and lovely buscuits! Personal service was above and beyond any expectations. Breakfast was as good as any 5 star hotel with a huge choice.I could not fault it on any level. Simply excellent! Thank you.

Response

Thank you for such a great review and we hope we will see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Vincent M | Tue 13th Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


Laurel Cottage - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Laurel Cottage for two nights at the beginning of September 2011 and had a great time.The cottage is in an ideal position and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Breakfast was great and our hosts were very helpful and friendly.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we might see you again in the future

Reviewer:Miss. Angela W | Wed 7th Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Laurel Cottage! Alison and Wayne are excellent hosts and serves up a delicious breakfast. Wayne is full of knowledge about hiking paths around Windermere. Highly recommended.http://londoncosmopolitan.blogspot.com/2011/08/guide-through-district-of-lakes.html

Response

Thank you for you review, we enjoyed reading your blog and the photos that you took and hope to see you again in the future

Reviewer:Ms. Lily V | Thu 1st Sep 2011 | 6 years ago


lakes break - Rating 5/5

A super place to stay,nice short level walk to Windermere which suited my mum.Great hospitality and lovely clean rooms etc.We would definitely stay again.thank youp

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to right a review, glad you enjoyed at and would love to see you again

Reviewer:Mr. PaulS | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

we were made to feel very welcome, the room was compact and very clean. The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble, would recommend to our family and friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley M | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


simply great- Rating 5/5

Friendly and entertaining host family;clean, tidy and cozy interiors plus professional services... the first choice to stay at Windermere.

Reviewer:Mr. Po-an P | Sun 14th Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We have been sleeping in Laurel Cottage for a couple of nights on our way to Scotland and we really had a great stay! We enjoyed the kindness of the hosts, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, the abundance and the quality of our breakfasts!In the words of my daughter Anna, it was the best stay of our vacation!!Luca, Elena, Anna e Mattia.

Response

Wow, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.I bet its warm back home, thank you again, Alison and Wayne

Reviewer:Mr. Luca B | Sun 7th Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Wonderfull bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Laurel cottage is a lovely, cosy b&b in windermere.Very clean, lovely rooms and great breakfasts.Wayne will give you all the advice you need for walks and where to eat and drink.A great place to stay for those who like the personal touch.Many thanks, we hope to return in the future.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review, hope you enjoy the rest of your break and we would love to see you all again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julia M | Sat 6th Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Cozy room.Delicious breakfast with creative daily specials such as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.Wayne provided us with a map to a great walk to Ambleside and even dropped us off to the train station at the end of our stay.

Response

Thank you for your review. it was great to meet you both. We are glad you enjoyed the walk and didn't get lost!!

Reviewer:Ms. Deepa W | Tue 2nd Aug 2011 | 6 years ago


fantastic - Rating 5/5

after a long travel to arrive at Windermere, we were greeted by Wayne who generously offered to pick us up from the rail station. we were then brought to a lovely townhouse &totally enjoyed our stay! we were a big group of 6, 2 seniors, 2 adults &2 children &the rooms given to us were fantastic, esp the family room. the children were still missing the comfortable sofa bed a few days after we left!I have to thank Wayne &Alison for offering to make adjustments to our number of rooms, i deeply appreciate that. Thanks for also bearing with our noisy little ones :)On the whole, I can see why Laurel Cottage is ranked highly on Tripadvisor!Thanks &WELL DONE!!!

Response

Thank you so much for you review, we enjoyed meeting you all.... don't worry the boys were fine never even noticed them.

Reviewer:Ms. HUI LING K | Mon 25th Jul 2011 | 6 years ago


Classic home - Rating 5/5

A nice home in a beautiful part of England.The room was comfortable and clean and the owners were very accommodating to our needs.This is a nice place to stay and I recommend it to anyone interested.

Response

Thank you Peter for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write the review, we do consider ourselves lucky to live here.

Reviewer:Mr. PeterM | Thu 7th Jul 2011 | 6 years ago


Faultless! - Rating 5/5

Our second stay here and just as enjoyable.Lovely room, great breakfast and run by a friendly couple.Would highly recommend.

Response

Lovely to see you again and we hope that you have recovered from your marathon!

Reviewer:Mrs. KathrynS | Tue 5th Jul 2011 | 6 years ago


Very comfortable attractive accommodation - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights and were made very welcome.Good breakfasts with a wide choice and a daily special.

Response

Hi Lynda, Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope the trip home wasnt too bad. Did the family enjoy the sticky toffee pudding it is one of our favorites?!

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynda C | Tue 5th Jul 2011 | 6 years ago


Everything so nice! Many Thanks :) - Rating 5/5

A warm family atmosphere, the hosts Wayne and Alison helped us venture out to find the lakes not only by providing directions on a map, but by lending us their own walking boots! That was a very kind and unexpected gesture that will not be forgotten. Had they not done so, we wouldn't have been able to explore the beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was really good too, expecially fried bread :) A beautiful home and fantastic service. Thank you.

Response

Thank you so much for your review, also the card left in the room it was very kind.We hope that your luggage turned up and your sailing course was fun.

Reviewer:Mr. Valerio L | Wed 29th Jun 2011 | 6 years ago


Brilliant, very friendly! - Rating 5/5

My partner and I (aswell as our bunny) all came and had a great stay. The owners are very friendly, down to earth and always make you feel welcome (even when you arrive with a rabbit) and breakfast is great. They can't do enough to help you and make your time enjoyable and will help in any way they can, No matter how daft the question is. Great little B&B def be back (esp to see scooby)

Response

Hi Joanne, thank you for your review, we enjoyed meeting you and the bunny and hope to see you soon, (bunny as well)Alison and Wayne

Reviewer:Miss. Joanne K | Mon 27th Jun 2011 | 6 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We arrived early, our room wasn't readyhowever they were more than happy to look after our bags whilst we went for a wander. When we returned to pick up our key our bags had been put in the room for us.The room was comfortable and clean ( not a trace of chintz!) we really enjoyed out stay, very accessible ( we travelled by train and walked there from the station) being at the bowness end of Windermere it was so easy to walk to bowness too . Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Response

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay (def no chintz here) and hope that you will be back in the futureAlison and Wayne

Reviewer:Miss. Ashley W | Sat 25th Jun 2011 | 6 years ago


Excellent Stay!!! - Rating 5/5

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in the lakes, very welcoming &friendly. Room was lovely &very clean, breakfast was superb with so much choice. 5 star service!!!

Response

Thank you for your very kind review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you againAlison and Wayne

Reviewer:Mr. Simon K | Tue 14th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Me and my husband stayed in Laurel Cottage over the Easter Break.We stayed in Room 3 which had the four poster bed in, this was the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in when away from home!Breakfast was fab and Wayne and Alison really looked after us telling us points of interest to visit and walks to try.Overall lovely experience and would recommend to anyone! x

Response

Hi Claire, thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. we get lots of comments about that bed being comfy, hope to see you again in the futureAlison and Wayne

Reviewer:Mrs. Clair J | Sun 29th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online


Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit card
  • Free parking
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family rooms
  • Internet services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking holidays

Contact Details

Laurel Cottage B&B in Windermere
Park Road
Windermere
Cumbria
LA23 2BJ
015394 43053
info@laurelcottagewindermere.co.uk